Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sonny Clark

Sonny Clark - Cool Struttin' (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition) [LP] - Vinyl

Sonny Clark - Cool Struttin' (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition) [LP] - Vinyl

Regular price $32.00 USD
Regular price $28.99 USD Sale price $32.00 USD
Sale Sold out


  • Conrad Yeatis Clark, otherwise known as Sonny Clark, was in many ways the quintessential hard bop pianist. Possessed of an enviable lyrical flow and a wealth of inventive melodic ideas that unfurled with clarity and without fuss, Clark had a deeply rooted feeling for the blues.

    After moving from his hometown of Pittsburgh to New York, Clark emerged as a ubiquitous presence on Blue Note starting in 1957. It was on his fifth Blue Note date as a leader that Clark arrived at his masterwork, Cool Struttin’, recorded in January 1958 with a top-shelf quintet featuring Art Farmer on trumpet, Jackie McLean on alto saxophone, Paul Chambers on bass, and ‘Philly’ Joe Jones on drums. The album has only grown in stature as a timeless hard bop classic since Clark’s premature death at age 31 in 19


    • Art Farmer - trumpet
    • Jackie McLean - alto sax
    • Sonny Clark - piano
    • Paul Chambers - bass
    • "Philly" Joe Jones - drums

    Recorded on January 5, 1958


    • SIDE A
    • A1: Cool Struttin’
    • A2: Blue Minor
    • SIDE B
    • B1: Sippin’ At Bells
    • B2: Deep Night
View full details