Skip to product information
1 of 1

Light in the Attic

Rim Ji Hun - Organ Orgasm - Vinyl

Rim Ji Hun - Organ Orgasm - Vinyl

Regular price $40.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $40.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Organist Lim Ji Hoon, player of the Hammond B3, teamed up with Beatball Records in 2012 to record this solo album after having scored a couple of hits as a member of the funk outfit Asoto Union. After Asoto Union disbanded, Lim broadened his funk sound with greater complexity by incorporating jazz and reggae elements in his new outfit, Funkafric Booster. Thereafter, Lim conceived of his solo debut album as a sort of homage to the great composers / works that shaped his musical world. 'Organ Orgasm' starts off with a piece by Ethiopian jazz titan Mulatu Astatke, and includes Lim's unique takes on R&B, Latin, and jazz classics such as 'Cry Me a River' and 'Sookie Sookie'. Lim also covers '연안부두(The Waterfront)' by the disco-funk unit that ruled the Korean club scene during the late 70s and early 80s, The Kim Trio. The track features jazz vocalist JungRan, achieving a faithful recreation of the unique vibes of the era's Korean dance music. To complete the aesthetic of 60s jazz and the golden age of Lounge, the album's cover artwork featured AV actress 北条麻妃(Hojo Maki) as the model, whose visit to Korea attracted much interest. Lim has gone on to collaborate with Kim Myung-gil, of the legendary Korean soul band Devils, as well as Japanese soul singer 大西ユカリ(Onishi Yukari) and various other local musicians. Lim currently runs his own Hammond organ-themed bar in Seoul.

  • 1 Mascaram Setaba
  • 2 Yekermo Sew
  • 3 Evil Ways
  • 4 Cry Me a River
  • 5 Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho
  • 6 Sookie Sookie
  • 7 Besame Mucho
  • 8 연안부두 (The Waterfront)

View full details