Skip to product information
1 of 1

Patti Smith

Patti Smith - Radio Ethiopia (140 Gram Vinyl, Download Insert) - Vinyl

Patti Smith - Radio Ethiopia (140 Gram Vinyl, Download Insert) - Vinyl

Regular price $27.00 USD
Regular price $23.99 USD Sale price $27.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Patti Smith Group: Patti Smith (vocals, guitar); Lenny Kaye (guitar, bass, background vocals); Ivan Kral (guitar, bass); Richard Sohl (keyboards, synthesizer); Jay Dee Daugherty (drums, percussion).
Engineers: Jay Messina, Brian Sperber.
Recorded at The Record Plant East, New York, New York.
1976's RADIO ETHIOPIA, the follow-up to HORSES, turned out to be both more conventional in some ways and more challenging in others. A deciding factor was Jack 'Aerosmith' Douglas replacement of John Cale as producer--the songs were more succinct (for the most part) this time around. The group continued to strive for the perfect balance between thought-provoking poetry and rough rock n' roll, and while RADIO ETHIOPIA contains it's share of highlights, many Smith fans consider it a transitional album not quite up to par with either HORSES or EASTER.
The opening "Ask the Angels" was perhaps The Patti Smith Group's most straight-ahead rocker up to that point, while the exploratory reggae-tinged "Ain't It Strange" would be extended concert staple. The tempo is brought down a notch or two on the cool "Poppies," "Abyssinia," and "Chiklets" (the latter a bonus track on the '96 CD remaster), but soon returns to furious rock with "Pumping (My Heart)." Also included is the album's best track, the haunting and heartbroken "Distant Fingers," while the 10-minute title cut features a repetitive heavy metal riff amongst a backdrop of sonic experimentation and a frantic recitation by Smith.

  • Genre: Rock
  • Format: Vinyl
View full details