Skip to product information
1 of 1

Neil Young

Neil Young - On The Beach - Vinyl

Neil Young - On The Beach - Vinyl

Regular price $34.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $34.00 USD
Sale Sold out

After working his way through loss and chaos on the brilliant TONIGHT'S THE NIGHT (recorded in 1973, but not released until 1975), Neil Young deftly exorcised any lingering demons with 1974's ON THE BEACH. The album opens with the saunter of the aptly titled "Walk On," followed by the utterly gorgeous, Wurlitzer-tinged "See the Sky about to Rain."
The set also features a trio of scathing songs--"Revolution Blues," "Vampire Blues," and "Ambulance Blues"--that address issues important to Young, both social and personal. It is good to hear Young back with such bite and vitriol, especially after the broken desperation of TONIGHT'S THE NIGHT. But while ON THE BEACH is edgy and deeply felt, it also manages to sound liberating and relaxed, with glimmers of hope and humor peeking through the spare, evocative arrangements. Inexplicably unreleased on CD until 2003, ON THE BEACH is both unflinching and resilient, and easily stands as one of Young's finest albums.


  • - Disc 1 -
  • 1 Walk on
  • 2 See the Sky About to Rain
  • 3 Revolution Blues
  • 4 For the Turnstiles
  • 5 Vampire Blues
  • - Disc 2 -
  • 1 On the Beach
  • 2 Motion Pictures
  • 3 Ambulance Blues
View full details