Skip to product information
1 of 1

Alliance Media Index

Kishi Bashi - Music From the Song Film: Omoiyari (Blue Color Vinyl) - Vinyl

Kishi Bashi - Music From the Song Film: Omoiyari (Blue Color Vinyl) - Vinyl

Regular price $36.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $36.00 USD
Sale Sold out

"Omoiyari" means to have empathy and consideration for others, and act on it. This fall, the American indie-folk multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter Kishi Bashi is set to release the companion album to his forthcoming documentary song film, titled Music from the Song Film: Omoiyari. Consisting of two LPs-"The Songs" and "The Score"-the release showcases what is essentially the soundtrack to Omoiyari, the feature-length motion picture co-directed by Kishi Bashi, aka Kaoru Ishibashi or "K," which is being released via MTV Documentary Films in November. Focusing on K's own six-year journey of discovery surrounding his research of the incarceration of 120,000 Japanese Americans that followed the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, the film is part social justice documentary and part song-film experiment. The album includes K's live improvisations, which are featured in the documentary, many recorded on the sites where the concentration camps stood. Written during and about the artist's transformational dive into his personal identity and serving as a broad survey of the Japanese American experience as well as the incarceration-Music from the Song Film: Omoiyari serves as an evocative musical accompaniment to the lessons of empathy and compassion portrayed in the film and highlights the process and power of one of modern indie's most talented musicians.

  • 1 Intro at the Piano
  • 2 Red, White, and Blue
  • 3 Improvisation at Heart Mountain
  • 4 Summer of '42 (Orchestral Edition)
  • 5 Improvisation in the Root Cellar
  • 6 ? (Iga Ueno Castle)
  • 7 Improvisation at Jerome, Ar
  • 8 Theme for Jerome (Orchestral Edition)
  • 9 ? (Nada Sou Sou)
  • 10 ? (Ue O Muite Arukou)
  • 11 A Safe Place for Animals
  • 12 Manchester (Acoustic Edition)
  • 13 Removal (With Kara Kondo)
  • 14 Violin Tsunami for the Victims of Tacoma Detention
  • 15 Epilogue from Improvisations on Eo9066
  • 16 For Every Voice That Never Sang

View full details