Skip to product information
1 of 1

Pancakes Records

Jonny Meyers - The Moment You Arrive - Vinyl

Jonny Meyers - The Moment You Arrive - Vinyl

Regular price $20.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.00 USD
Sale Sold out
“Everything about this music is timeless — Jonny Meyers’s smoke-and-whiskey voice, the singalong harmonies and horn parts, and the bittersweet, ever-hopeful songs that reach out and grab you like an old friend found at the end of a long journey.” - David French, author of the biography Heart Full of Soul - Keith Relf of the Yardbirds

The Moment You Arrive (2021) jumps off as a culmination of the genres that have always informed Jonny's songwriting; blues, soul, rock, country, and Jamaican ska and reggae. With this record, Jonny brought in Michael TA Thompson to produce, pulling the songwriting and organic feel of The JMQ, his long standing band, to the forefront. The lyrical content explores a running theme of how music and life inform each other. For example, the album’s single, “Jubal,” celebrates the life of a friend, music maker and forever source of joy, while songs like “Inspiration” discuss the unpredictable coming of the muse. Other times, the groove takes center stage, especially in uplifting, horn driven songs like “Pretty Green Lights.” Moment is a carefully curated small menu; no guest musicians, just a true sense of gratitude from a band that loves playing together, especially following an unprecedented time apart due to COVID-19.

“On The Moment You Arrive Jonny Meyers pulls from soul, R&B, rock, reggae and even folk to create a record that sounds like what a young Elvis Costello may have made today - Elizabeth McQueen, Producer/Host, KUTX Austin


released November 2, 2021

Jonny Meyers – Guitar, Vocals
Kevin Batchelor – Trumpet, Vocals
Seth Goldberg – Drums, Percussion
Dan Jeselsohn – Bass
Tony Orbach – Saxophone, Flute

Horn lines written and arranged by Kevin Batchelor & Tony Orbach
*Additional horns lines written and arranged by Michael TA Thompson

All songs written by Jonny Meyers – ASCAP, JMQ Publishing

Produced by Michael TA Thompson for POS Productions

Recorded by Mitch Rackin at The Creamery Studio and Concrete Sound
Mixed by Mitch Rackin
Mastering by Mitch Rackin

Photography by Alex López
Album design by Sharon Lewis
Logo Design by Julie Nymann
Design Consultation by Juanami Spencer
Social Media design and management by Isabella Villalón-Meyers
View full details