Skip to product information
1 of 1

Light in the Attic

Ella Washington - Ella Washington - Vinyl

Ella Washington - Ella Washington - Vinyl

Regular price $28.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $28.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Ella Washington was born and raised in Miami, FL where she still makes her home as a pastor. Her family background wasn't a particularly musical one, although one of her sisters was Audrey Royal who recorded briefly for Spector International in the 70s. Like so many singers of her generation Ella started her career singing in local clubs and it was at one of those, the Birdland, that she encountered two of Miami's greatest soulmen, Clarence Reid and Paul Kelly. Under their helpful guidance Ella began her path as a recording artist.

After several successful singles, Ella's only Sound Stage 7 release was recorded at Music City Recorders in Nashville, Tennessee. The self-titled LP is all classic, no filler and surely ranks among the deepest soul in her catalog. Full of strong ballads that showcase her raw and emotive style each song is perfectly arranged to showcase Ella's powerful vocals. Standout tracks include 'Sit Down and Cry', 'All The Time', and ' Stop Giving Your Man Away'. The LP also features Ella's 1969 hit 'He Called Me Baby' which entered the top 40 R&B charts and garnered a Grammy nomination. Newly remastered and pressed on audiophile virgin vinyl. Limited to only 500 copies.

  • 1 Stop Giving Your Man Away
  • 2 Sit Down and Cry
  • 3 Sweeter and Sweeter (Ray, Ray, Ray)
  • 4 Starving for Love
  • 5 Fragile (Handle with Care)
  • 6 He Called Me Baby
  • 7 I Want to Walk Through This Life with You
  • 8 Doin the Best I Can
  • 9 The Affair
  • 10 All the Time
  • 11 This Bitter Earth

View full details